NCTA COMMITTEE STRUCTURE AND RESPONSIBILITIES

The Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture is dedicated to providing an effective and nurturing student-centered learning community that prepares students for successful careers in agriculture, veterinary technology, food and related industries. Governing councils and college-wide committees are an integral part of achieving this mission and create a structured approach to addressing both current and future campus needs. The purpose of this document is to describe structure of governing councils, committee membership and major committee responsibilities.

NCTA Governing Councils

Deans Council

Dean's Council is a collaborative body which makes decisions regarding institutional policy, priorities, budgeting, and strategic plan implementation. Dean's Council also advises the Dean on potential new initiatives or institutional issues to be addressed. Dean's Council is composed of academic leads, all members of Executive Staff, Business Manager, Facilities Supervisor, the chairperson of the Faculty Senate, the chairperson of Staff Senate, and two student representatives from the Student Senate (1st and 2nd student representatives).

Faculty Senate

The primary power of the faculty senate is its concern for the well-being of the Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture and those it serves with the inherent freedom to voice this concern. Those persons with the rank of instructor or above shall constitute the voting members of the college faculty. The faculty senate officers include a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and Secretary-treasurer. Officers are elected annually during the April meeting, taking office at the beginning of the Fall Semester. Faculty Senate By-Laws provide full details of Faculty Senate governance.

Staff Senate

The purpose of the Staff Senate is to provide an opportunity for NCTA staff to have input into supporting the mission of the college. At Staff Senate, employees discuss issues of relevance to the well-being of the college and make recommendations and suggestions for continued growth and improvement. All full-time staff at NCTA are voting members. Officers include a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and a Secretary chosen annually in January. Staff Senate By-Laws provide full details of Staff Senate governance.

Executive Staff

Executive Council is composed of the Dean, Associate Dean for Finance, Operations and Student Services, and WCREEC Director/Associate Dean. Executive Staff sets priorities for the college, addresses priority initiatives, implements the budget, and implements community wide input while setting the direction for the institution.

Academic Council

Membership will include the Fellow of Curriculum, Instruction and Advising (Chairperson), Academic Leads, Student ADA/504 Coordinator/Advisor, and the Registrar Office Associate will act as the secretary of this council. Academic Council will examine, study, and establish procedures and policies for any matters concerned with the curriculum of the College, subject to review by the faculty. The committee will act on behalf of the faculty, after faculty approval or input, on all matters dealing with curriculum which include such items as: new courses, credit hour changes, course prerequisites, course descriptions, establishment of majors, deleting majors, establishment of certificate programs and other items as seen necessary by the committee. The Committee will have the authority for approving, rejecting, or modifying student requests dealing with substitution or waiver of courses. Full details of Academic Council are also described in Faculty Senate By-Laws.

College-Wide Committee Structure Guidelines

Committees will be developed as needed under the guidance of NCTA's Deans Council. As a general rule, faculty and staff members of committees shall serve 3-year terms that are staggered while students will serve 1-year terms. Where appropriate, permanent committee members may be established based on the relationship of the faculty/staff position and committee responsibilities. Faculty committee members shall be selected by Faculty Senate, staff members by Staff Senate, and student members by Student Senate in consultation with the Associate Dean of Student Services. New appointments will occur as needed each **September**.

Committee Summary

A separate summary sheet will be updated annually with current member names, detailed service years, and a description of the general structure and responsibilities of each committee.