Aggie Teams & Activities


The Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture is dedicated to providing a complete education for our students which includes intercollegiate athletics and club activities. NCTA students are encouraged to participate in these Intercollegiate Athletic teams: Rodeo Team, Equestrian Show Team, Livestock Judging Team, and Ranch Horse Team. Students also gain valuable networking and leadership skills through participation with these college clubs and organizations: Collegiate 4-H/FFA, Farm Bureau Club and Veterinary Technician Club (STVMA).


Aggie Rodeo Team



The National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association (NIRA) allows college bound cowgirls and cowboys a chance to have the best of both worlds - boots and books! Anyone who has the desire to rodeo can join the team and compete at the 10 NIRA Great Plains Region rodeos. Rodeos are held during the fall and spring semesters. Team members travel together and hotel expenses are paid by the college. The team practices most of the school year. Great Plains Region Competition includes: the University of Wisconsin - River Falls, Iowa State University, South Dakota State University, North Dakota State University, University of Nebraska - Lincoln, National American University and Dickinson State University. The NCTA rodeo team utilizes both the Livestock Teaching Center indoor arena as well as the Curtis Mill Park arena for practices.

For more information contact Coach Bridger Chytka at 1-800-3CURTIS.




Livestock Judging Team

Team-Good-Close.gif Livestock Judging is an academic activity that complements ones educational experience by enhancing communication and decision making skills. Livestock judging is available to all NCTA majors regardless of previous experience. First year students learn livestock selection and evaluation in class, while second year students hone their skills and compete actively in intercollegiate contests throughout the year. Eight to 10 highly motivated students are selected for the first and second year teams. Support for the NCTA Livestock Judging team is wide spread as the team travels throughout the state and in other states for practices at private livestock operations. The NCTA team competes at the National Western Stock Show in Denver, CO; the Houston Livestock Show; the National Barrow Show in Austin, MN; the Kansas Junior Livestock Show; the American Royal Livestock Show in Kansas City, MO; the North American International Livestock Expo in Louisville, KY; the Cow Palace in San Francisco, CA; the Arizona National and the Dixie National in Jackson, MS.

For more information contact Coach Doug Smith at or at 1-800-3CURTIS.

Horse Show Team


The Intercollegiate Horse Show Association was developed to allow student riders of any skill level or
economic background to be able to compete and succeed at their own level of skill and experience.
Teams do not move horses to shows. Riders from all colleges ride horses provided by the host college. Riders draw for mounts and utilize whatever tack is on the horse they've drawn. There is no schooling time; riders mount, adjust stirrups and ride in before the judge. The NCTA Horse Show team competes against Texas A&M, Colorado College, Laramie County Community College, the United States Air Force Academy, the University of Colorado - Boulder, the University of Wyoming, New Mexico State, Texas Tech and Colby Community College. Team members are responsible for IHSA and NCTA team dues and show entry fees ($15-$17 per class).

Students wishing to ride for the NCTA Horse Show team are not required to have a horse. Students will practice using college horses in addition to borrowed mounts.

For more information contact Coach Joanna Hergenreder at or 1-800-3CURTIS.

Intramural Athletics

Student interest generates the sports that are played in the NCTA intramural athletics program. Men and women participate in basketball, volleyball, football and softball every year with sports like wrestling and soccer also attracting large groups of students. Tournaments are held and awards presented to the winners.