

May 6, 2021 By NCTA News

## PTK honor society inducts 26 Aggies

CURTIS, Neb. – Twenty-six students were inducted Wednesday as members into the Alpha Iota Tau Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa honor society at Curtis.

Initiates gathered with current PTK members for the annual candle-lighting installation ceremony at the Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture.

Since classes during May 2020 were remote, the group represents initiates from 2020 and 2021.

The academic honorary recognizes academic achievements of students attending a two-year college. It provides opportunities for growth and development through honors, leadership and service.

"Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2.5 million members and 1,275 chapters," said Eric Reed, faculty advisor and associate professor in General Education.

Leadership of PTK for 2020-21 was President Taylor Sayer, Cambridge; Vice President, Nicole Wright; and Secretary-Treasurer, Addison Villwok, Randolph.

## Inductees for 2021 to Alpha lota Tau chapter were:

Carli Anderson, North Platte Riley Borgerding, Blue Rapids, Kan. Gillian Brinker, Anchorage, Alaska Megan Conley, Mission, Kan. Amy Egelhoff, Lincoln Taylor Hendrix, Holyoke, Colo. William Huebner, Hershey James Lee, Sutherland Alexxandra Malchow, Beatrice Katherine Moyer, Adams Hannah Murray, North Bend Olivia Nyberg, Stromsburg ElsiAnna Rodewald, McCook Brianna Sjolander, Belleville, Kan. Allison Wilkens, Gibbon Macy Zentner, Cedar Rapids

## 2020 Initiates

Some initiates for 2020 graduated last summer or fall in a virtual ceremony. They are noted with an asterisk:

\*Samantha Gray, Superior
\*Emily Kammerer, Sutherland
Bailey Johnson, Hastings
\*Paige McKenzie, Western
Darci Reimers, Boelus
Taylor Sayer, Cambridge
\*Brianna Schuck, Harvard
Faith Jamie Spratlen, Lincoln (deceased)
Addison Villwok, Randolph
Nicole Wright, LeRoy, Kan.

## PTK officers for 2021-2022:

President: Macy Zentner, Cedar Rapids; Vice President: Taylor Hendrix, Holyoke, Colo.; Secretary/Treasurer: Katherine Moyer, Adams; and Student Senate Representatives William Huebner, Hershey, and Alexxandra Malchow, Beatrice.

The PTK ceremony was held this week in conjunction with graduation events honoring the Class of 2021. Many of the inductees had completed final exams and left campus for their summer or fulltime employment.



PTK officers, new and previously inducted initiates gathered May 5 for a ceremony at the NCTA Education Center. (Front row, L to R) Elsi Rodewald, Macy Zentner, James Lee, Olivia Nyberg, Allison Wilkens, Paige McKenzie, and Taylor Sayer. (Back row, L to R) Alexx Malchow, Taylor Hendrix, Amy Egelhoff, Carli Anderson, Nicole Wright, Addison Villwok, Darci Reimers, and Faculty Sponsor Eric Reed.

Part of the University of Nebraska system, the Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture is a two-year institution with a statewide mission of preparing students for successful careers in agriculture, veterinary technology and related industries. NCTA is known for its affordable tuition, high job-placement rate for its graduates, and for the success of student teams in competitive activities including crops judging, ranch horse events, livestock judging, shotgun sports, stock dog trials, and intercollegiate rodeo. The college is consistently ranked as one of the best two-year schools in the nation.

Online article at: <a href="https://go.unl.edu/rm26">https://go.unl.edu/rm26</a>