

Curtis, NE 69025-9525 Mary Crawford: 308-367-5231 mcrawford@unl.edu

May 4, 2019 By NCTA News

## PTH honor society inducts 20 Aggies

CURTIS, Neb. – Twenty students were inducted Wednesday as new members into the Alpha Iota Tau Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa honor society at Curtis.

Initiates gathered with current PTK members for the annual candle-lighting installation ceremony at the Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture.

The academic honorary recognizes academic achievements of students attending a two-year college. It provides opportunities for growth and development through honors, leadership and service.

"Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2.5 million members and 1,275 chapters," said Eric Reed, faculty advisor and chair of General Education.

He cited well-known PTK alumni in successful careers and higher education, including NCTA Dean Ron Rosati who attended the ceremony.

The 2019 inductees to Alpha Iota Tau chapter are:

Krista Albers, North Platte Ethan Aschenbrenner, Scottsbluff Huntra Christensen, Lincoln Angela Crouse, Haigler Morgan Curran, Arapahoe Dean Fleer, Pierce Kelly Gordon, Julesburg, Colorado Kaylee Hostler, Central City Cari Howell, Lewiston Jocelyn Kennicutt, Gothenburg Taylor Lambrecht, Wood River Catherine Ljunggren, Aurora Kayla Mues, Cambridge Alexis Penna, Holley, New York Luke Peters, Ainsworth Emily Riley, Norton, Kansas Amanda Schmidt, Stanton Chantelle Schulz, York Aurora Urwiler, Laurel Anna Whyman, Lincoln

(more)

The ceremony was held in conjunction with graduation events honoring the Class of 2019.

Leadership of PTK for 2019-2020 will be President Paige Twohig of Axtell, Vice President Kayla Mues of Cambridge, secretary/treasurer; Krista Albers of North Platte, and Student Senate Representatives Jocelyn Kennicutt of Gothenburg and Aurora Urwiler of Laurel.



Inductees of Phi Theta Kappa at the Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture, Curtis in a ceremony on May 1 included front, from left: Kelly Gordon, Julesburg, Colorado; Luke Peters, Ainsworth; Jocelyn Kennicutt, Gothenburg; Emily Riley, Norton, Kansas; Aurora Urwiler, Laurel; and Alexis Penna, Holley, NY. Back row, Morgan Curran, Arapahoe; Dean Fleer, Pierce; Kaylee Hostler, Central City; Catherine Ljunggren, Aurora; Amanda Schmidt, Stanton; and Kayla Mues, Cambridge. (E. Griffiths / NCTA Photo)

Installation was conducted by the 2018-2019 officers, President Peyton McCord, Cairo; Secretary/Treasurer, Leighlynn Obermiller, Grand Island; Historian, Kendra Marxsen, Schuyler; and Student Senate Representatives Shayla Woracek, Maxwell, and Baleigh Miller, Sterling Heights, Michigan.

Throughout the academic year, PTK conducts service projects such as a blood drive with the American Red Cross, sponsors campus activities such as a monthly dance, and hosts community service events.

For information on PTK and academic criteria for members at the Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture, contact Professor Eric Reed.

(more)



All PTK members joined for the class photo at the Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture.

# # #