NCTA NEWS

404 East 7th Street Curtis, NE 69025-9525 Mary Crawford: 308-367-5231 mcrawford@unl.edu

May 11, 2020 By NCTA News

NCTA Aggies Class of 2020

CURTIS, Neb. – Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture students honored May 7 in a virtual commencement ceremony were presented by NCTA Interim Dean Kelly Bruns. Associate of science, associate of applied science, and program certificates were conferred by University of Nebraska Vice President Mike Boehm.

Academic highlights noted by NCTA Associate Dean Jennifer McConville included 37 of the 105 students graduating with honors, with 18 as members of the academic honorary Phi Theta Kappa.

Valedictorian Alexis Penna graduated summa cum laude in animal science with a perfect 4.0. She owns and operates a diversified farm in Holley, New York. While attending NCTA, Penna was a campus resident hall assistant, active in Women in Ag and Aggie Rodeo.

Class salutatorian Dalton Keller of Torrington, Wyoming, also majored in animal science, along with completing a 1-year certificate in irrigation technology. He farms in a family diversified operation, raising beef cattle and crops.

The virtual graduation ceremony and awards program is stored at: https://ncta.unl.edu/2020. Each graduate has a customized, recorded message by one of their professors.

Academic Awards are signified by Φ = Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Member

- *** Summa Cum Laude—Gold—4.0 CGPA
- ** Magna Cum Laude—Silver—3.75 3.99 CGPA
- * Cum Laude—White—3.5—3.74 CGPA

Associate Degrees

Agribusiness Management Systems

Burwell - KayLee Rasmussen Gothenburg - Kristofer Junker Sargent - Jackson Taylor Shelby - Grant Romshek Wilcox - Paige Twohig**Ф Fort Collins, Colo. – Mariah Mulvey* Prairie View, Kan. – Damian Wellman Eltopia, Wash. – Jarrod Tuttle**

Agricultural Production Systems

Axtell - Amy Lammers
Ayr: Trenton Schumm
Beatrice: Cari Howell**
Beaver Crossing: Andrew Cast
Bridgeport: Kohltin Lund*
Burwell: KayLee Rasmussen

Cambridge: Kayla Mues*Ф Cozad: Tucker Bartlett Cozad: Emmaly Wright Creighton: Ted Fanta Curtis: Nathan Lashley

Doniphan: Sarah Fitzgerald*, Nicholas Krzykowski

Elsie: Madisyn Cutler

Gothenburg: Chase Callahan, Jocelyn Kennicutt**Φ, Jonathan Lauer, Korbin Moore

Heartwell: Dalton Olsen

Hershey: Clayton Monheiser**

Imperial: Cade Francis*
Juniata: David Jelken

Kearney: Madalyn Anderson Kenesaw: Samuel Schukei* Laurel: Aurora Urwiler*Φ Lewellen: Blake McCormick* Lexington: Darcy Ramos Stewart*

Lincoln: Madison Schnase

Mullen: Jaci Edis, Matthew Stichka*, Samuel Vinton

Nenzel: Courtney Galloway Omaha: Harrison Wegener Palmyra: Anna Whyman**Ф Papillion: Emily Giese* Pierce: Quentin Anderson Sargent: Samuel Brown

Scottsbluff: Ethan Aschenbrenner**Φ, Tyler Aschenbrenner

Shelby: Grant Romshek Spalding: Anna Esch

Stanton: Amanda Schmidt*Φ Sutherland: Emily Kammerer*Φ

Tekamah: Cory Leonard Utica: Harlee Barth Wallace: Maisie Kennicutt

Weston: Francis Holley Wilcox: Paige Twohig**Φ

Weeping Water: Rylee Ehmke

Pine, Colo.: Shelby Dismuke* Alton, Kan.: Adrianna Boland Norton, Kan.: Emily Riley**Φ Otis, Kan.: Clade Anderson

Phillipsburg, Kan.: Morgan Wagner, Ashley Wells

Prairie View, Kan.: Damian Wellman Wakeeney, Kan.: Brady Mattke Wellsville, Mo.: Bradley Slavens

Holley, N.Y.: Alexis Penna***Φ Valedictorian

Adamsville, Ohio: Garrett Lapp Redfield, S.D.: Trever Muellenberg

Torrington, Wyo.: Dalton Keller** Salutatorian

Veterinary Technology Systems

Alliance: Chloe Herrera
Brunswick: Brittany Pellatz
Fairfield: Hannah Friend
Fremont: Kaylee Ness
Friend: Breauna Derr
Geneva: Rachelle Uldrich
Genoa: Christina Starkey
Gothenburg: Lexi Simants
Haigler: Angela Crouse**
Harvard: Brianna Schuck**
Hastings: Jenna Garver**
Hooper: Rebecca Robertson
Lexington: Emily Hubbell**
Lincoln: Sierra Bogle

McCook: Brenleigh Daum North Bend: Katrina Murray

North Platte: Krista Albers**Φ, Christopher Brooks

Omaha: Rosa Jurado, McKenna Schmidt, Jacqueline Sjulin* Ф

Scotia: Rachel Thompson Springview: Ashley Connell** Sterling: Sydney Goracke Ф Superior: Samantha Gray*Ф Wahoo: Shawn Barger Wauneta: Jayden Ingold Waverly: Joli Brown* West Point: Kiley Guenther

Wood River: Taylor Lambrecht*

Φ

McDonald, Kan.: Alexandra Hazuka** Norton, Kan.: Kaytie Henrickson* Burlington, Colo.: Martina Janousek

Laurel, Md.: Keegan Jones

Sidney, Mont: Megan Greenwood St. Croix Falls, Wis.: Erica Lumsden*

Certificates

Agribusiness Management Systems

Tekamah: Cory Leonard

Phillipsburg, Kan.: Ashley Wells

Agriculture Production Systems

Mullen: Jaci Edis

Agricultural Chemical Application

Imperial: Cade Francis

Equine Management Training

Hastings, Minn.: Rose Siebenaler

Irrigation Technology

Beaver Crossing: Andrew Cast Torrington, Wyo.: Dalton Keller

Agricultural Welding

Redfield, S.D.: Trever Muellenberg

Animal Care

Friend: Breauna Derr Hastings: Jenna Garver Hooper: Rebecca Robertson North Platte: Krista Albers Springview: Ashley Connell Norton, Kan.: Kaytie Henrickson

Part of the University of Nebraska system, NCTA is a two-year institution with a statewide mission of preparing students for successful careers in agriculture, veterinary technology and related industries. NCTA is known for its affordable tuition, high job-placement rate for graduates, and for the success of student teams in competitive activities including crops judging, ranch horse events, livestock judging, shotgun sports, stock dog trials, and intercollegiate rodeo. The college is consistently ranked as one of the best two-year schools in the nation.



A collection of images from the Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture greeted viewers on May 7 to kick off the digital commencement for NCTA graduates.

Online article: https://go.unl.edu/g6x9