Community Advisory Committee Meeting

Department COVID-19 Updates:

Community Advisory Minutes Wednesday, May 11, 2016


Kelly Bruns (absent), Tom Brown (absent), Alan Garey (absent), Stephan Herman (absent), Grant Jorgensen (absent), Mike Kelly (absent), Gilbert Larsen, Ted Lashley (absent), Wade Shipman, Tyre Nelson, Marilyn Pilcher, Stan Pilcher (absent), Barb Scharf, Doug Schultz, Bob Willis (absent), Ron Rosati, Jennifer McConville (absent), Kathy Burr (absent), Catherine Hauptman (recorder), Kim Mortensen (absent)

The NCTA Community Advisory meeting was called to order at 12:10 P.M. with the above referenced individuals in attendance.


  • Dr. Ron Rosati welcomed everyone to the meeting.
  • Ron welcomed Wade Shipman of Western Nebraska Bank. Wade is a 2014 NCTA graduate and will be joining the advisory council.


  • Minutes were reviewed. Tyre Nelson moved to accept the minutes as written, Doug Schultz 2nd, minutes approved as written. 


  • NCTA commencement agenda was reviewed and discussed.
  • Nebraska Gov. Pete Ricketts will be the keynote speaker.
  • Dr. Rosati invited all Community Advisory members to attend Commencement on Thursday, May 5 at 1:30 p.m. at the Curtis Memorial Community Center.                 


  • Dr. Ronnie Green, vice chancellor of the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources, has been named by NU President Hank Bounds as Chancellor-elect of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln to assume duties from retiring Chancellor Harvey Perlman. The appointment will be approved by the Board of Regents in June. (Dr. Green assumes duties May 8, 2016).


  • NCTA had its accreditation review by the Higher Learning Commission on March 28-29 with four accreditation team members assessing NCTA. The overall visit went well and results will be shared later. 


  • The Spring, 2016 Dean’s Aggie Alumni newsletter was distributed.
  • All are encouraged to attend the alumni banquet June 11 at the Community Center.


  • Doug Schultz gave an update on the Rural Futures Initiative Community Serviceship grant awarded to the City of Curtis, with NCTA as a co-sponsor.
  • One intern has been assigned to Curtis for May 29-July 29.
  • A stipulation of the grant is the City must provide housing, along with a $1,200 financial stipend. Arrangements will be made with NCTA to furnish residence hall lodging and the grant will cover lodging fee. The intern will be responsible for her meals.


  • The 2016 Judging Conference of the North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture was at Crookston, Minnesota. 
  • NCTA won national titles in crops judging and computers and second place in livestock judging.  They had third places in agribusiness management and dairy judging, with fourth place teams in ag sales, horse judging and livestock management. 
  • Many NCTA students placed high individually, as well.


  • The 2016 NCTA calendar of events was distributed and reviewed.
  • Important upcoming events are:
    • April 21, Buckle Ceremony
    • April 28, Steak and Shake animal science awards
    • May 5, Commencement, 1:30 pm


  • Doug Schulz said Medicine Valley Economic Development Corporation in starting a business incubator on land purchased near the NCTA water tower.
    • Building will be 75’ by 75’
    • Businesses will include a water bottling facility and goals for an irrigation technician, meat butcher shop, and agricultural mechanics/repair.
    • Targeted construction is August, 2016
    • A question was asked for updates on NCTA campus housing.
      • Three of the four dorms are being utilized. East Traditional requires fire suppression updated/replaced and necessary funding for this. 
      • Tyre Nelson complimented the road paving and parking lot near the front of the Ag Industry Education Center and complimented Dr. Rosati on his leadership and job performance.
        • Tyre inquired about a Spanish class at NCTA
          • Currently, Spanish is listed in the catalog. No students have signed up for the course. Dr. Barnes does teach limited Spanish with vet tech students.

The meeting adjourned at 1:25 P.M. The next meeting will be Tuesday August 2nd at 12:00 P.M.